Architecture is a platform where culture, history and city monuments are gathered. Each city has a unique identity, a rich past and a developed life cycle, as well as its roots, its growth and the inevitable impact on its population and visitors. This conference has a main goal to collect awareness to architecture as a tool for preservation in favor of conservation of buildings and edification.

Margres strategic course allowed the recognition and prestige from Portuguese and international architects that choose Margres products for their projects. The brand launches now Margres Architecture Conference, an initiative that aims to promote, reunite and potentiate knowledge throughout different perspectives and visions about how architecture can have its own space to grow and develop. This conference will approach simultaneously the past, the future and life cycle of big urban centers, as well as how architecture integrates itself among art and in the heart of the major cities. But also, its identity and how it can be affected by architecture.

Margres Architecture Conference will be a unique opportunity to share experiences, about this new era for architecture, about the Academy and essays on wide spectrum of design, landscape and architecture. The conference main goal is the increase share of projects from central architectural professionals, fearless insights on construction and powerful debates about the most recent techniques, towards an effective breakthrough and understanding of global architectural world.

Enrique Sobejano and Carvalho Araújo are two confirmed presences and this first edition is an Iberic encounter between two professionals that are known for breaking down barriers and spreading the best of architecture all over the world.

Margres Architetcture Conference will take place next 7th of November in Centro de Congressos da Alfândega do Porto.

View Schedule


Enrique Sobejano

Enrique Sobejano


Enrique Sobejano was born in Madrid and has worked as an architect since graduating from the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid and the Graduate School of Architecture and Planning at Columbia University in New York in 1983. He is a professor at the Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK), where he holds the chair of Principles of Design.

As an architect he has been a visiting critic and lecturer at various international universities worldwide. From 1986 to 1991 he was co-director of the architectural journal Arquitectura, published by the Colegio Oficial de Arquitectos de Madrid.

Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos was founded in 1985 by Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano and has offices in Madrid and Berlin. Along with being widely published in international magazines and books, they are the recipients of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2010), the Alvar Aalto Medal (2015) and Gold Medal of Merit in the Fine Arts in 2017. Their major works include the Madinat al-Zahra Museum, the Moritzburg Museum, the San Telmo Museum, the Zaragoza Congress Centre and the Contemporary Art Centre in Córdoba. Currently have projects in Germany, Spain, Austria, Estonia, Morocco, China, United Kingdom and France.

Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos are key names from the new spanish architectural vanguard, which roots radicate in Spain, but its history and culture is multidisciplinary. Their work reveals a language and a understanding of local culture and context.

Carvalho Araújo

Carvalho Araújo


José Manuel Carvalho Araújo was born in Braga in 1961, city where he lives and works. In 1986 he takes over CECA – Centro Estudos Carvalho Araújo, that works as a project lab, to test new ways to deal with industrial design. In 1989 he develops an initial program to ARPA system office furniture, that will be presented in 1990 at Orgatec in Colónia (Germany). In the same year he graduates in Architecture, at Faculdade de Arquitetura Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, after attending the first four years at Escola Superior Belas Artes do Porto. In 1996 he creates J. M. Carvalho Araújo, Arquitetura & Design, S.A. office, where he develops architectural projects with different scales and approaches, and Industrial Design. Between 2005 and 2013 he combines academy with professional practice, teaching Project chair at Faculdade Arquitetura Universidade Católica de Viseu. In 2013 he inaugurates his São Paulo (Brazil) atelier. Nowadays he also works as a consultant and creative director in several companies and is frequently invited to participate in expositions and conferences, that are materialized in numerous national and international distinctions both in Architecture and Product Design areas, as well as Design Plus Award, Good Design Award, Sena da Silva Prize and National Prize for Urban Reabilitation.



Add to calendar






Opening Session

Presentation of Arvo Pärt Centre project

Architect Enrique Sobejano


Award attribution of Margres Architecture 2019


Architecture: Art or Technique

Architect Carvalho Araújo


Cocktail Dinatoire and Networking





Admission to the conference is free, but registration is mandatory and seats are limited.

Fields marked with * are required.

For further information or questions regarding accessibility, please contact us here.

Registration for the Conference implies the acceptance of the terms and conditions of the Margres Architecture Conference, presented here.


Where to go?

Alfândega do Porto
R. Nova da Alfândega 4050-430 Porto

N 41.1430389º
W 8.6217094º






Margres Architecture Conference